"The ultimate goal in 1989 was to make our public schools the very best that they could be."

- Founding board member Dianne McDowell


The Education Foundation of Elizabeth City – Pasquotank Public Schools was formed in 1989 by a group of concerned citizens with a desire to improve the quality of education in our area schools.  The Foundation was formed as a 501 (c) (3) nonprofit organization in 1991 with the mission to facilitate excellence in education in the Elizabeth City – Pasquotank Public Schools.  Serving as the primary advocate for education withing our community, the Foundation garners support from parents, civic leaders, politicians, non-profit organizations, charitable and civic organizations, and others.

Hoping to bridge the gap between available funding and critical need for our school system, the Foundation offers a significant source of supplemental funding for educational programs, equipment, and professional development training for teachers .  Since inception, the Foundation has provided over $1,000,000  in funding to improve the quality of education in our area schools through the following efforts.  To learn more about what we’ve accomplished, visit our impact page.  Also be sure to read the reflections of founding board members Doug Gardner and Dianne McDowell.

Foundation Milestones

  • 1989: The idea of an Education Foundation for the public school system is created by a group of concerned citizens
  • 1991: The Education Foundation of Elizabeth City – Pasquotank Public Schools is officially established as a 501 (c) (3) nonprofit organization
  • 1991: Board Member Mickey Thompson establishes a $100,000 endowment through BB&T, providing operating funds for the organization
  • 1993: A “mini-grant” program is established to encourage creativity and innovation in the classroom.
  • 1993: The Teacher of the Year program is establish to reward and acknowledge excellence among educators in our public schools1996
  • 1996: Led initiative to make all area public schools internet-ready
  • 1999: First Executive Director hired
  • 2003: The James R. Gray Fund is established to provide innovative grant money is history and social studies education.
  • 2006: The Francene Jones Sanders Fund is established, which awards innovative grants for math and science instruction
  • 2007: The mini-grant program is named the Martha Anne Ward Swain Innovative Grants, in honor of Swain, a founding board member.
  • 2007: AVID initiated into our public school district
  • 2008: The Unity Fund is established by a group of Northeastern High School alumni to provide scholarships to ECPPS students
  • 2008: AVID implemented at both Elizabeth City and River Road middle schools
  • 2009: AVID implemented at Northeastern and Pasquotank high schools, one year ahead of schedule
  • 2011: The Education Foundation, together with ECPPS, works to implement Reading Recovery in our public schools
  • 2012: Reading Recovery‘s first Teacher-Leader, Kim Robertson, is hired to train area educators on the principles and practices of Reading Recovery
  • 2012: A Reading Recovery training site is completed at J. C. Sawyer Elementary School
  • 2013: Reading Recovery is implemented at J. C. Sawyer, P. W. Moore, and Northside Elementary schools
  • 2013: SAFE Schools Fund is established in response to the Newtown, CT, tragedy, in an effort to increase security measures in our local schools
  • 2013: First ECPPS AVID graduating class. 96% of ’13 AVID graduates will attend a four or two year college.

   SITE MAP                                                                                                                                                               CONTACT




- History
- Mission
- Leadership
- Financials
- Contact
- BB&T Endowment
- Innovative Grants
- Teacher of the Year
- Unity Fund
- Golf Tournament
- Battle of the Albemarle
- Annual Meeting
- Other Events
- Sponsors
- Partners
- Links
- Donate
- Join
- Sponsor
- Volunteer
Education Foundation of Elizabeth City – Pasquotank Public Schools
PO Box 2453
Elizabeth City, NC 27909
p: 252.338.9115
President: Tony Flach